(no subject)

Mar. 25th, 2026 05:09 pm
agaricae: (Default)
[personal profile] agaricae
WHY HAS EVERY DAY BEEN A YEAR im so tired

Nothing Really Happened Today

Mar. 23rd, 2026 11:58 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
Today was peaceful but damn am I getting sick of Mandarin.

Today on the treadmill I took a deeper look at EXO's video Wolf

https://odysee.com/@Top-Kpop:1/EXO-Wolf:a

because the dance routine is like some fancy cultured thing rather than just a pop dance routine. It is quite intricate.

EXO

Mar. 22nd, 2026 11:20 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
I walked for about three and a half hours this morning, which seems stupid because I expect that much exercise to provoke too much hunger for someone on a diet, but I haven't been too hungry as the day is progressing.

Significantly fewer hot flashes last night but I still didn't really sleep. Having an unusual bedtime snack may have been the culprit. I had an apple, a few cashew pieces, and a tablespoon of protein powder instead of my regular, a slice of tofu with salad greens.

I had even less caffeine today than yesterday despite how drained I felt after that walk, so I'm keen too see whether I sleep tonight. However, I won't sleep at all if I don't get some more quick-release melatonin. I walked right by the store that sells it during my walk today and couldn't remember that I was all out, so now I'll have to go for yet another walk. My feet hurt. The store is on the other side of town. I can take the bus there, but I'll have to walk to the bus stop and walk back home.

I had but one cup and broke it late this afternoon. Fatigue made me clumsy. I can get another at the dollar store, but that trip is long and tiring. Until then, I'll be drinking out of jars again.

Today I looked up exo, a kpop group I like. Reading about what they are doing with their lives now that exo isn't doing much as a group, and knowing how long they've been in show business, made me feel...not exactly depressed, but left behind, I suppose. Because my life seems to be going nowhere. Pop music isn't really a good hobby/interest anyhow.
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
They audio that accompanies the more basic Mandarin text I have is not easy to understand because I'm not used to mainland Chinese accents. It's also not very pleasant to listen to, especially when it comes to terms that are pronounced differently. I feel that I have to be on guard somewhat to avoid picking up incorrect vocab.

I have Mandarin textbooks that are put out by the Taiwanese government, but they don't seem to cover the basic vocab that I lack. The chapter I worked with today covered the words for aunt and female cousin on the mother's side, but I still don't know the word for grandmother. I know that grandmother is on the tocfl because it was in the mock test.

So I turned to Rosetta Stone for basic vocab. I tried rs mandarin as a beginner but decided to not continue with it, not only because it's not specific to Taiwan, but also because it was too boring. I had no problem going through all five levels of rs german, so maybe I got kind of burned out on rs or german is just easier to learn in that format.

The lessons are much easier now that I've acquired so much vocab, but I'm not sure there's an efficient way to acquire what I lack. I need the words for relatives beyond the nuclear family, household objects, food, and probably jobs and typical places one would find in any city. The thing is that I don't know how much I can jump around to get what I need because rs lessons build on previous lessons. Just going through every lesson wouldn't be difficult, but it would take too much of my time; I'm still trying to study three podcasts and have two textbook series from which to choose.

I skipped some studying late this morning to go out for a long walk. I just needed to be out in the sun and fresh air. I had only one, maybe two, hot flashes (which is good because it was warm outside). Maybe increasing my body temperature helps prevent the hot flashes? Maybe it's exercise? Once I got back home, I started having them again.

The hot flashes keep me up all night until around six am. Normally, I get up at seven am, or, at least, I did before this new chapter in my insomnia story began.

It's weird that winter is just now ending; it's been so warm lately that it feels as if it's mid-spring. Goddamned global warming. Maybe the upside of global warming is that icy wastelands like Norway will transform into places that are suitable for human habitation. Nah; they'll be warmer but they still won't get enough sunlight.

Korean has fallen by the wayside, and not because of all the extra Mandarin study I've been doing. The hot flashes and attendant insomnia have exhausted me to the extent that I cannot even work up much enthusiasm for studying the language.

My hand and wrist feel better today; I've been trying to use my mouse less. At least half the reason for the repetitive stress is my playing a computer game when hotflashes come on because focusing is difficult and I try to distract myself from the discomfort.

I have an upcoming medical check-up. I'm going to ask for solutions to the hot flashes, but I fear there'll be nothing but hormones on offer. I'm not taking any of that shit because it messes with the mind. I'll just be an unproductive menopausal womon instead.

The guy I was corresponding with online gracefully accepted my change of my mind. I feel bad about what happened. Maybe I should try harder to get along with autistic people. Maybe he's not a pseudo-intellectual so much as his communication difficulties make him sound like one. I tried to consider the situation but I've been so tired I cannot think clearly. I think I made a reasonable decision anyhow.

Liberty or Death

Mar. 19th, 2026 11:32 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
My wrist hurts and I have a tingling sensation in my dominant hand. Repetitive stress injury from using the mouse to search for Taiwan-related shit online.

I'm never going to get to Taiwan until I get a source of income, or rather, another source of income. Even the programs that pay airfare require money up-front. To get into a language school, I have to show proof that I have at least four thousand dollars in a bank account. This applies to scholarship applicants. To get into a university, I have to pay the first semester's tuition because the scholarship funds won't be paid until I register, which I cannot do without paying, even if the school knows I'll be receiving a scholarship.

I used to think that scholarships were for poor people, but a lifetime of experience investigating requirements has proven that they are not.

I can see that living in Taiwan will involve a lot of bureaucratic bullshit. They need to align their scholarship program with their school application policies.

I found sources for some cheap flights and can get a plan ticket for four to five hundred dollars. But I have no way to save up that much money. Maybe that's not even cheap; I just had eight hundred to a thousand dollars in mind in terms of cost but I really had no firm basis for that range.

So I'm stuck now. My options are: continuing to look for a job here and either saving up before leaving or working remotely and trying to get a digital nomad visa; or finding a volunteership on the island that includes accommodation, or finding more scholarships.

I had a nice long walk today after my lifting session. I was amazed at how long I could go before lunch. I got home an hour and a half after my new lunchtime, which was already an hour later than my previous lunch time, and I felt fine. About a block from my apartment, it occurred to me that I'll be getting back at least some of my rental deposit once I leave this apartment, so some of that money can go towards my trip. However, I can't leave it until I all my plans in Taiwan are settled; otherwise I'll spend some time homeless again. Unless I can stay in a hotel for a couple of weeks in between moving out and my flight. That of course will cost a fortune. It would be great if I could get a loan. The scholarship for language school seems to be enough to live on, so I'd have no trouble paying it back. But who the hell is going to give me five or six thousand dollars? I don't have enough credit built up.

All of this I'm going through for the privilege of walking alone, at night, where ever I please, without having to fear rape. Something most of them take for granted. All this stress and strife due to men and their violence and sense of entitlement to female bodies.

Lets Try Again

Mar. 19th, 2026 09:31 pm
agaricae: (Default)
[personal profile] agaricae

Ok this was the post i was trying to write. Its back to retail and I am so scared of coming back into the environment. I’m not really worried about customers like i should be mostly because the thing that got to me last time was the point of service system and the fact that michigan doesnt require breaks. So we get none. Not looking forward to that again. Also, most of the time people going into the flower or liquor shop knew what they wanted. Bike sales though? I HAVE to be able to guide them though. Definitely a new ball game and we get shared commission so im scared to be slacking and riding the coat-tails of better associates….. But i think that i actually know what kinds of questions i can ask to receive help from coworkers and improve myself. Last time i felt like i was flying blind….. this time, apparently there will be roleplaying lol. Im mostly scared though because im also doing ANOTHER new thing and working part time ontop of my school but it’ll only be for a month but still I HAVE NO CAR AND IM THE HOUSE MAID ughh T_T Good luck to me. It is only one month.

Oh and i wanted to write out a new little list trying to guide myself. Im wondering if it might be beneficial to try and do like those emdr memory retrieval things to see if maybbeee i have some unresolved shit holding me back lol. I dont remember a lot from my childhood, and i know it is because um. I have things I DONT want to remember…. But. I would like my childhood memories back. Might help as some like dementia deterrent shit too lol. But anyway uhhh. List. Contact bunny abt the city music compilation thing, think abt joining that youtube email band thing i saw monthss ago if its still alive, learn about saving accounts more (like a roth ira or something), learn about car maintenance and take drivers lessons, volunteer at community gardens over the summer. I dont want to overwhelm myself by trying to do everything at once though or even try to keep every idea in my head so i seriously need to write down everything i can think of and prioritize the fuck out of it.

Let it all go

Mar. 19th, 2026 08:51 pm
agaricae: (Default)
[personal profile] agaricae

Ive had way too many limiting beliefs about myself and wayyyy too many expectations i was putting on myself trying to live for other people (both trying to determine my life based on theirs and trying to control and alter theirs). Im ready to let it all go (all i can think abt is pinkpanthress lol. let it all go!). I’m limiting others by constantly interfering in their lives and not letting them work on their own conflict resolution, resilience, and sense of responsibility.

I’m ready to put in the real work to help myself, put my energy into myself. I dont have stable footing like an older adult or someone to guide me all the way like a child so I need to do this for myself. Everyone had things in their life they had to process, i cannot baby everyone. They will grow and survive. And its not up to me what their life path will look like. If they become awful or just selfish entitled people, thats not on me! It never will be.

I have an article for class i was really trying to keep business oriented instead of interpersonal oriented but it really struck me and i didnt realize how deep until just now. Helping people through conflict is NOT solving their problems for them, theyll never grow like that, and guess what. Every time an issue arises it’ll be your issue too! Every time if u let yourself fall into a trap by constantly framing yourself as the “problem solver” the glue the lover whateverrr. And its very much about your own ego. “I cant watch them do this to themselves” “i cant deal w this affecting me” “it looks bad on me if i dont step in” “i’ll feel bad if i dont step in”. YOU ARE NO ONES SAVIOR. You are not the universal mother or therapist. And its selfish. THEYLL NEVER GROW! You take that away. Let them sit with their issues until they are ready to turn it into something else. But i feel like i dug the hole so deep for myself. Is it really fine to sit the people in my life down and say something like “im not pullong away and i dont care any less about you but it would be selfish of me not to let you learn and be prepared for your own life”. Im realizing now that this is probably what my cousin who was in foster care and on meds/psych appointments is dealing w right now. Everyone was deciding her choices for her, solving her problems. I hope I get to see her become her own person. I really hope I do. And if thats true, what have I been doing to the people that I’ve “helped”?

No good choices

Mar. 18th, 2026 11:53 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
I finally checked my email for a new message from my new penpal. It was just a web link, which, he said, leads to a video response he made to my last email. I'm not clicking a link from some random stranger, plus, if he read my whole profile, he knows that I have auditory processing issues, so I don't appreciate him switching from text to audio. The latter is not a big deal; I wouldn't necessarily hold it against anyone because my condition is rare and I can't really expect people to be aware of the details, but, on top of the pseudo-intellectual bullshit, it was a bit much. I logged on and simply told him that I no longer wanted to be penpals. Weight off my shoulders.

I had sushi rice for dinner tonight. It was a nice treat. Usually my rice is jasmine or calrose, and occasionally, basmati.

I'm trying to diversify my intake of greens, so I bought some arugula. It's bitter but it may be ok if paired with tomatoes or tomato sauce.

I'm tired and demotivated tonight because these Taiwanese universities want letters of recommendation even for the program that locks applicants into a post-grad work obligation. Everything is so unfriendly to disabled people. There's no way for me to come up with a reference from a professor or an employer given that I've been out of school and work for over a decade.

The hot flashes are driving me insane. I looked up how long they might last and the answer is years:

https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/menopause-related-hot-flashes-night-sweats-can-last-years-201502237745

I'll be dead long before then due to lack of sleep. Maybe it's the night sweats keeping me awake. They kept me awake when I went to bed without eating. I have no idea whether I'm having enough vitamin d3 and how often I should take some.

I don't want to be in hot ass Taiwan while having hot flashes. My life is marred by a lack of good choices. When I decided to start preparing to move to this country, did I even consider that I wouldn't need warmth anymore after getting my iron intake under control? I'm not sure that anemia was a possibility on my mind back then. Plus, I'm never fully awake and I wasn't back then either.

If I could just come up with the money for a plane ticket, I could do my year of Mandarin school and then figure things out from there. It's all for lack of transportation that I've considered these degree programs. Maybe I should have tried out the sewing gig just to earn enough for a ticket. How loud can sewing machines be? However, the job is seven hours a day; that much time around the noise might be too much.

Maybe I'd trying moving to Ireland after my year of Mandarin. There'd actually be no point in doing a year of Mandarin if my long-term goal was to expatriate to Ireland. I'm not sure that I'm warm enough for Ireland, though. Plus I'm just sick of living around white-privileged people. And I don't want to live in a "friendly" culture either. Plus I heard that Ireland has a housing shortage. Certainly not a place I'd want to be homeless in.

Anime Hurts

Mar. 17th, 2026 11:54 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
I put "i hate anime" into duckduckgo and ended up on a Reddit thread about why people hate anime. Someone said that anime is ugly then suggested a prettier anime. I am disturbed by the way anime looks, so I looked up the suggestion to see whether it's any better than what I've seen:

https://houseki-no-kuni.fandom.com/wiki/Houseki_no_Kuni_Wiki

Probably not the whole anime looks like this scene, but this picture hurts to look at. Most of the anime I've seen hurts my brain somehow. No, not my brain, not my eyes, but something about it hurts the connection between the two. I can't figure out what it is. Maybe it's too busy, there's too much detail.

My sleep is still very bad and my ibs is still improving.

So I've restarted studing my more basic set of Mandarin textbooks, the ones that focus on mainland accents. They are more basic than the Taiwanese textbooks in the sense that they're more focused on fundamental vocab, traditional beginner's vocab. I hope that will prepare me for the tocfl. Now that I've thought about it more, I think I struggled with the listening component, not only because of unfamiliar vocab, but, perhaps more fundamentally, because I wasn't used to the mainland accent used during the test.

The only test date listed on the site is late April, so I guess that's what I'm shooting for. I don't even know how much the shit costs. I should have focused on this sooner.

I keep taking off my sweatshirt and putting it back on like literally a minute later. Once each hotflash is over, I'm cold again. We have a new tag: the 'menopause' tag.

A school in the mountains

Mar. 16th, 2026 10:41 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
Today I spent six or seven hours researching Taiwanese universities. It was an onerous task because Taiwanese universities tend, it seems, to not post the degrees they offer and because a lot of the web pages were just blank.

I found a few universities on mountains, but I eventually gave up because most have tuition that would nearly exhaust the scholarship, leaving me with next to nothing to pay for the miscellaneous student fees, because I'd still have no way to cover air fare with this particular scholarship, and because I'm just tired and demotivated at this point. It's nearly nine-thirty pm and I've been researching online since around two-thirty or 3 pm. I never feel sure about these plans; never in my life have I supported myself financially, and I fear that I'll never be able to, particularly given my chronic health issues. I also probably won't ever be able to afford property in Taiwan even if I do manage to hold down a job, and renting for life = possibly working for life seems a grim future. At my age, I might not qualify for any kind of retirement benefit for a long time even with a career.

But I keep forgetting that I'm supposed to be just getting an education/checking out the island first, before committing myself. But I'd be committing myself anyhow in a way because I'll be homeless again if I come back here. As well as depressed, probably. It seems better to commit myself to Taiwan, sight unseen.

I found a talent recruitment program that would cover costs for select educational programs in exchange for employment at a Taiwanese company, but most of the programs open to me are in large cities. (It feels like cities with over a million people in them should not exist.) A lot of the hosting universities want only people from southeast asia; why, I don't know.

Of those that do not have this restriction, I'm down to one that's in a low population density area and one that's on a mountain just outside a large city. I might contact some of the others and ask whether they'll take a lowly American. If I go this route, I'll have no choice but to commit myself after finishing whatever schooling I choose. But coming up with airfare would still be a problem, at least initially; the programs reimburse for airfare, so I'd have money for at ticket back here at least. I typed 'back home,' then deleted it. This shit isn't my home. I have no home.

And my last option is the american scholarship I've been planning to apply for all this time, the one that requires studying Chinese culture and history, the latter being a topic in which I'm not terribly interested,the degree being one that doesn't seem terribly lucrative. It will however cover airfare and the program is specifically designed to get students fluent in Mandarin, so it's an integration tool.

Right now, I am stuck on the dumbest shit: identification. I need to take the test of chinese as a foreign language; I cannot even register an account without a passport, I cannot get a passport without my birth certificate, I can't get my birth certificate without a valid government id, and I cannot get the id without money unless I go spend the day waiting in that hellhole the dmv.

I just took a speedy mock tocfl test online and scored the equivalent of cefr a1 in listening comprehension. I need a2 to get into any degree program taught in Chinese. My score bothers me regardless of whether I'd need it or not. I know that my listening comprehension is better than what the score suggests but I think the test focuses on everyday conversations, and the podcasts I'm studying aren't very good for that level of speech, plus my textbooks mixed rather niche vocabulary in with basic vocab instead of teaching all basics at the beginning, as most textbooks do, so they put me at something of a disadvantage.

I've begun studying chinese stories/fables again; I hope that'll improve my facility with basic vocab. I don't really want to go back to basic level textbook stuff. It's boring as hell.

I think my insane insomnia is caused by excess d3 intake. It started around the same time I started opening up my d3 capsules and taking the contents directly. I'm probably absorbing way more than I used to absorb and thereby overdosing. I tried taking the d3 every other day, and it seemed that I slept a little (rather than not at all). I'm going to try taking it just once per week or so now.

Today I added treadmill to my regular weights+cycling workout routine to burn more calories. I just get on the treadmill after I can't stand being on the bike anymore and speedwalk for forty-five minutes to an hour. Lunch is pushed from eleven am to noon. I was somewhat hungrier than usual, but I had a few tablespoons of applesauce and I was fine.

Flashcards and Body Fat

Mar. 15th, 2026 11:45 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
I was satisfyingly productive today. I went for a two-hour walk and cleaned more than I usually clean on cleaning day. I'm back to Mandarin flashcards, and I made a bunch of new flashcards this evening. I'm now studying three podcasts in parallel. Actually two podcasts and an odyssee channel.

For months I've been listening to a Spanish-language podcast instead of French-language podcasts. I finally listened to something in French yesterday, an episode of a podcast I used to listen to almost daily, and understanding the host was just a bit more difficult than it used to be. I would like to maintain my skills in both languages, but something about listening to both in the same day or perhaps during the same walk feels off. I probably need to deliberately make space in my day for both. I have no problem reading French, however.

I have three pairs of shorts that I cannot wait to fit into. I can get into them now, but they are tighter than I'd like in the thigh and derriere region. I really dislike the way I accumulate fat in those areas. I found some kpop videos on odyssee. I was watching exo videos while on the treadmill a couple days ago and feeling something approaching jealousy because I would like to look that good in a pair of pants.

Back at coffee

Mar. 14th, 2026 11:00 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
Today was another day half ruined by a migraine. I'm having coffee again and I suppose I cannot simply jump back in at the doses I was having before. I cannot think of the correct term, but "dose" fits because I'm taking the coffee for quasi-medical reasons.

I did however decide on a major for grad school: nature conservation or sustainability; it goes by several different names. If I ever get a career, I feel like I could do better for the world with this sort of knowledge than what I could do with applied math. The latter would probably be more lucrative and easier to find jobs with, however.

Actually, I'm not 100% decided, and me even having a choice depends on what kind of scholarship I can get and where the school is. Too many Taiwanese universities are in large cities, and I'm not going to expose myself to that noise, pollution, and crowding. I'm looking for a university up in the mountains, where, I hope, the air is better and the pace of life is slower. Then I will decide on the basis of the majors available at such colleges. Another factor is whether the program will improve my Mandarin skills. There seems to be a lot of programs taught in English.

I'm sweaty a lot now and I cannot afford to do laundry often enough. Today I wondered whether this menopause thing is actually better than menstruating. Maybe not, but it doesn't last as long. Then again, it isn't painful. It's the randomness of hot flashes and their alternation with coldness that make this so bothersome.

My insomnia is going to ruin everything. It's the reason I keep over-dosing on caffeine.

(no subject)

Mar. 13th, 2026 08:15 pm
agaricae: (Default)
[personal profile] agaricae
Need to stop procrastinating. Thats it. Lol.

Wahhhhh

Mar. 13th, 2026 02:39 pm
agaricae: (Default)
[personal profile] agaricae
Its probably how fucked the weather has been but i cannot focus on anythinggg. Im anxiously waiting for a job offer to come in i rly rly hope i get it. Ig im a little sad thinking that i’ll have to do retail w no real breaks full time instead of trail crew or farmhand since i dont have a car…. But hey. I do it this year and next year my dream will be in sight! Im excited :3 Also i can inadvertently learn more about bikes and use my discount to make a bikepacking rig! Maybe. I’lo focus on saving for a car though. Lol.

Mistakes

Mar. 12th, 2026 11:03 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
The first mistake was agreeing to be this guy's penpal. I can now describe more precisely what was really wrong with his original message: it screamed pseudo-intellectual. The second message was the same, no, worse. He claims to have studied string theory and come up with his own theory about dark matter. I can tell he has no idea what he's talking about. He linked me to some of his writing and it was nothing but metaphors: the universe as a "symphony." Pseudo-science.

He also says that he sees other people as dumb. I'm dreading his next message. If he writes me again, I think I'll just tell him that I don't want to be penpals anymore. I told him that his writing was not scientific; maybe he'll get a clue and stop bullshitting, but I'm not holding my breath. Why is everyone full of shit?

The second mistake is progesterone. Perhaps it's not really a mistake and just needs some fiddling with. I'm experiencing irresistible drowsiness in the afternoons. Again. At first I figured I'd just stop taking it again, but maybe I should try adjusting the timing. I took it at nine pm last night and the drowsiness came on today around two-thirty or three pm. That's about an eighteen-hour interval. To fall asleep at eleven pm, my usual bedtime, I'd need to take it the day before, ...oh shit, at around 5 am, when I should be sleeping. I guess that's not going to work.

I also tend to feel tired throughout the day when I take it despite all the caffeine I have, so maybe it's not worth it anyhow. I'd rather go back to not sleeping than feel tired all day; it's depressing, I cannot focus, and nothing gets done. Plus I'm scared of having more mental health issues.

Today I had an even smaller midday snack and I was fine, but that's likely because I was lying down, that is, not burning much energy and not looking at a screen.

It's not my imagination; my skin problems are fading. One of them, at least, the most noticeable one. Nothing is moving quickly enough, however.

It's not just crime that makes me want to leave this country: I want to run away from the trauma I've experienced here. Leaving is one of the few things that seems like it'll make me feel any better. I have in my mind a little seed of a thought, that I should find some other way to feel better than fleeing to a country that'll soon be invaded. But it's just a seed; it's not growing yet. Growing it will be difficult.

I haven't been studying Korean, haven't felt like it at all, and I think the progesterone-induced fatigue is why. I'll be glad to be back to my old self tomorrow.

I really need to commit to taking my iron because waking up with cold feet while having a hot flash is just horrible. Too cold to sleep and too hot to sleep too, it seems. Skipping iron was another mistake.

(no subject)

Mar. 12th, 2026 04:07 pm
agaricae: (Default)
[personal profile] agaricae
I need to get the fuck away from my family. Really fucking wish they could b normal n we could connect but nooooooo. What the fuck everrrrrrrrr. I hope u all get normaler soon.

Men Are Violent

Mar. 11th, 2026 10:55 pm
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
[personal profile] disappointed_lesbian
Doing much better with today's midday snack: slightly more than half a serving of soy protein powder, half a small banana, three peach slices and a bit of fruit juice from the can of peaches, a few tablespoons of applesauce, what I fear was more than half a tablespoon of peanut butter, and like three fifths of a hash brown for the headache that was building. No headache now, and I'm just over half an hour from dinner, although I may try to push dinner later.

The good thing about being close to goal weight is that I don't have to undereat much, so I never really feel hungry. I feel after some meals that I would like a few more bites, but that feeling is easy to ignore and then forget about.

I slept more last night, but it was still much less than I usually sleep. Maybe I need to take the progesterone at bedtime like the bottle says. Why in the hell menopause comes with insomnia, I cannot imagine. Nature is senselessly cruel. But maybe this is just a civilized menopause. I'd like to know what menopause is like outside of civ.

Anti-death-penalty activists kind of get on my nerves. Of all the fine causes they could agitate for, they put their energy into keeping the most violent prisoners alive. What possesses them to care about murderers more than they care about abused children or pollution I don't know, but I don't think their priorities are in order.

And I'm so goddamned tired of activism for saving men from the consequences of their own horrific behavior. Most of the people on death row anywhere are men because men commit the worst crimes and the most crimes. Anti-death-penalty activism is effectively just more activism for excessive male freedom, just like pro-gun rights activism is effectively activism for excessive male freedom. Most of the people interested in owning guns are men because men are violent. Gun rights are effectively rights to indulge their love of violence.

There is a reasonable argument that can be made about self-defense, but from whom do people need to defend themselves? From men. Men created the problem, men created a violent solution that poses new problems. Men ruin everything for everyone.

I'm off my original topic of the death penalty, but the conclusion here is that men simply should never have power over anyone. They can never be trusted; even the death penalty doesn't deter enough of them. The men given power to control crime become criminals themselves: the police are violent, prison guards are violent, all mostly men.

The world will never be pleasant until men are divested of power, including access to weapons.
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:53 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios